White Tara

  • White Tara expresses the energy of the bladder.
  • Immeasurable Feeling inherent in it – Compassion.
  • Her fundamental doctrine – of the Five Skandhas.

White Tara has regal character. She is depicted with the royal crown, long hair and rich ornaments. She has seven eyes (portrayed is a third eye, plus two on the palms and two on the soles of her feet – symbols of the Five Skandhas) – she sees the emptiness of the five groups of attachment that allow you to eliminate the five hindrances in practice. In her right hand she holds a lotus. White Tara represents the highest, the royal quality of the mind – Compassion – and therefore she is portrayed royally.

Five Skandhas (Five Aggregates):

  1. Material forms
    • earth (solidity)
    • water (cohesion)
    • fire (heat)
    • wind (motion)
  2. Sensory perceptions (energy)
    • Pleasant
    • Unpleasant
    • Neutral
  3. Perceptions (thoughts) – reaction to sensory perceptions, recognizing and labeling
  4. Mental formations (samskaras) – previous mental imprints, karma – all the aggregations that form our thoughts.
  5. Consciousness (awareness of the memory and the will) – our independent observer.

Any object in the world of living or dead is by-himself an accumulation of Sansara and is composed of various objects: there is no object in Sansara that has not been constructed. Therefore, any object is subject to suffering and decay. The theory of Skandhas allows for systematic disidentification with the objects of affection.

By Natalia Tsimbler